peace river election

Unofficial Results for the 2017 Peace River Municipal Election

October 17, 2017
Official results have now been posted:

Official Municipal Election Results

October 17, 2017

While reviewing the forms for provincial reporting an error was noticed.  We missed bringing over one of the numbers from one tally form to another.

This means that Colin Needham was elected and Rod Burr was not. Updated numbers are below.

October 16, 2017

Following today’s election, the unofficial results of the Peace River Municipal Election are listed below. Official results will be published on Friday, October 20.

For Mayor of Peace River, 2017 – 2021:

Hilton, SherryNo401
Paras, JamiNo313
Tarpey, TomYes977

For Peace River Council, 2017 – 2021:

Alesksov, AnnaNo380
Burr, RodNo860
Downing, JohannaYes1070
Ford, OrrenYes1082
Friedt, ChelseyNo621
Good, DonYes1095
Manzer, ElaineYes1228
Needham, ColinYes874
Schamehorn, ByronYes924
Wesoloski, RickNo416

2017 Municipal Election

Voting Dates

October 16, 2017 from 10am – 8pm
Al-Adair Recreation Centre
9798 – 98 Street
Peace River

October 12, 2017 from 12:30pm – 4:30pm
Heritage Tower Lodge
10123-103 Ave
Peace River

October 5, 2017 from 3pm – 7pm
Peace Regional Pool
7201-98 St
Peace River

Voter Eligibility

Basic Requirements

In order to vote in a municipal election you must meet the following four qualifications:

  1. 18-years-old on election day.
  2. Canadian Citizen.
  3. Resident of Alberta for six-months preceding election day (since April 26, 2017).
  4. A resident of the Town of Peace River.


  • Photo identification issued by Canadian governmentor agency, whether federal, provincial or local (excludes passports);
  • Bank/credit card statement or personal cheque;
  • Correspondence issued by a school, college or university;
  • Government cheque or cheque stub;
  • Income/property tax assessment notice;
  • Insurance policy or coverage card;
  • Letter from a public curator, public guardian or public trustee;
  • Pension Plan statement of benefits, contributions or participation;
  • Residential lease or mortgage statement;
  • Statement of government benefits: e.g. Employment insurance, old-age security, social assistance, disability support, or child tax benefit;
  • Utility bill: e.g. Telephone, public utilities commission, television, electricity, gas or water;
  • Vehicle ownership, registration or insurance certificate; or
  • A letter or form (attestation) confirming that the person lives at the stated address. The letter can be signed by any of the following:
    • authorized representative of a commercialproperty    management company;
    • authorized representative of a correctional institution;
    • authorized representative of a First Nationsband or reserve;
    • authorized representative of a post-second-ary institution;
    • authorized representative of a facility thatprovides services to the homeless; or
    • authorized representative of a supportiveliving facility or treatment centre;

Other FAQ

I own property in property in multiple municipalities in Alberta, can I vote in each one?
No, you must designate one place as the place you live and will vote in.

Peace River is permanent address but I’m away temporarily e.g. attending school. Can I still vote?
Yes. You may return to Peace River to vote.

Is there an option for an absentee ballot or proxy vote?

If you have questions please email feedback@peaceriver.ca

Nominated Candidates

The following candidates have been nominated for the position of Mayor of Peace River.

NameCampaign Phone NumberCandidate Phone NumberWebsite and/or Email
Hilton, Sherry(780) 219-0188Sherry for Mayor
Paras, James(780) 618-9158(780) 624-9499Jami Paras for Mayor
Tarpey, Tom (780)624-7070
(780) 625-5393
Tom for Mayor

The following candidates have been nominated for the position of Councillor for Peace River.

NameCampaign Phone NumberCandidate Phone NumberWebsite and/or Email
Aleksov, Biljana (Anna)(780) 274-0562(780) 274-0562Anna for Council
Burr, Rod(780) 624-4238(780) 625-6139Rod for Council
Downing, Johanna(780) 624-4778(780) 618-7842Johanna for Council
Ford, Orren(780) 625-7008Orren for Council
Friedt, Chelsey(780) 274-0048Chelsey for Council
Good, Don(780) 624-9221(780) 625-9251Don for Council
Manzer, Elaine(780) 624-3988Elaine for Council
Needham, Colin(780) 624-1765(780) 624-1765Colin for Council
Schamehorn, Byron (780) 836-0453Byron for Council
Wesolowski, Richard(780) 618 6379Rick for Council

Info for Candidates & Campaigns

Simplified Rules for Campaign Signs (PDF – 4MB)